restfitness.blogg.se

Boxcryptor forum
Boxcryptor forum











boxcryptor forum
  1. #BOXCRYPTOR FORUM SOFTWARE#
  2. #BOXCRYPTOR FORUM WINDOWS#

I was 10 or 11, and I got used to the technology quite early. JM: You studied law and economics in college, so what brought your interest to cybersecurity?ĪP: When we got the first computer in my house, my father put it in my room. This invasive action on our web browsing options is why security is important not only for companies but also for private users. That situation is analogous to the 2016 election and many other elections we don't know what kind of trace we leave online, and we don't know what kind of impact it has on the things we see or hear or the things other people see.

boxcryptor forum

When I'm Googling insurance plans, I only see the higher prices, and I think it's okay, and I pay for it because I don't know my data is connected with that result. For whatever reason, my prices are much higher than for other people, but I don't know that. But in five or ten years or even two years, the data is analyzed, and you don't know what's happening with it.įor example, today I might send an email to my dentist, and in two years, maybe I want to change my insurance. When you do things online, and you leave a trace, maybe today, nobody is interested in it. One might say, "My data is not important for anybody, and whatever I do online has nothing relevant for me or others." But you never know what could happen to that data in the future. JM: What are your thoughts on the 2016 election? Do you believe there was interference in the voting process that could have been prevented with more cybersecurity?ĪP: When we started to develop the product, we said it should be important for every company and also every personal user to encrypt their data because you never know what part of your data might be important in the future.

boxcryptor forum

Now, people know why they would need to encrypt their data.

boxcryptor forum

Now with the GDPR, people have completely different standpoints on encryption and security than they did seven years ago. People always asked us, "Why do I need an encryption for Dropbox? Why would I want to encrypt my data?" In recent years, there have been many data scandals where photos or documents were leaked. From that point, the company started to grow.

#BOXCRYPTOR FORUM SOFTWARE#

We found some entrepreneurs who invested half a million euros in our company, which we used to build the team and hire software developers. We were the only two people running the company, and we knew if the company was to grow and be successful, we needed to raise some money. Since then, we've added even more providers, so Boxcryptor works on Google Drive, iCloud, and many other providers. We then added more platforms, so now users were also able to encrypt data on their iPhones, iPads, and MacBooks.

#BOXCRYPTOR FORUM WINDOWS#

In the beginning, Boxcryptor was encryption for Dropbox and only worked on Windows computers. We developed the product and started to build the company. We knew we found a product people need, so we created Boxcryptor. We said, "We've developed an encryption tool for Dropbox test it and let us know what you think." Within one week, this prototype was downloaded over 1,000 times. We posted in the Dropbox forums to present our idea and the encryption tool. When we shared our idea with people we knew, they were all interested. We developed a small tool to encrypt data before it's uploaded to Dropbox. Robert is a computer scientist, and I've studied law and economics, so we both said we want to make sure our data was protected, and we started with a focus on Dropbox. Julia Miglets (JM): Tell me about Boxcryptor.Īndrea Pfundmeier (AP): My co-founder, Robert, and I were in college, and we wanted to start our own company. She spoke with Julia Miglets, our social media and marketing strategist, to talk about the importance of cybersecurity, Boxcryptor's success, and how her career led her to where she is. Andrea Pfundmeier is a co-founder of Boxcryptor, a company that provides encryption software for cloud storage solutions like Dropbox.













Boxcryptor forum